When it comes to Oklahoma, the state’s child labor laws are administered by the Oklahoma Department of Labor’s Child Labor Unit. It has established a strong, legal framework defining the rules for minors to protect their interests and provide a safe working environment. These rules typically include the minimum working age, hours, and time of day minors can work, restricted occupations, and employer penalties for violating Oklahoma’s child labor laws.
The rules also state that employers must comply with both state and federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), always adhering to the stricter provisions to protect minors.
The state has put in place a strong framework to govern employment in Oklahoma.
In Oklahoma, employers must follow both state and federal child labor laws. However, in cases where the two differ, they must comply with the more restrictive rules. For instance, the federal FLSA is stricter regarding the number of hours 14- and 15-year-olds must work on a school day than the state laws. It suggests that they must work for only 3 hours per day and 18 hours per week. In such a case, employers must comply with the federal laws. For minors aged 16 and 17, Oklahoma’s laws align with the FLSA and do not impose any hour restrictions.
In Oklahoma, the general minimum working age is set at 14 years. However, some exceptions do exist allowing minors under 14 years of age to work. These include:
According to state laws, all minors aged 14 and 15 must obtain an Employment Certificate of Age and Schooling (work permit) before they begin working. Meanwhile, 16 and 17-year-olds do not need a work permit.
The process to obtain a permit is as follows:
The employer must keep a copy of the minor’s work permit in their file for compliance and audit purposes.
The state of Oklahoma has imposed work hour restrictions only on younger workers.
The state of Oklahoma restricts minors from working in hazardous occupations. The table below sheds light on these jobs.
| Category | Prohibited Roles (Summary) | Who is Affected |
| Hazardous Machinery | Operating, cleaning, or repairing most power-driven machinery, including food slicers, sharp knives, hoisting devices, and power-driven mowers (for commercial use). | Under 16 |
| Construction & Height-Related Work | Most occupations in construction any work on ladders or scaffolds. | Under 16 |
| Manufacturing, Mining & Processing | Work in or around any manufacturing, mining, or processing plant. | Under 16 |
| Driving & Motor Vehicles | Driving a motor vehicle or serving as an outside helper on a vehicle for commercial purposes. | Under 16 |
| Food Service | Most cooking and baking activities, and working with deep fryers or grills. | Under 16 |
| Public Utilities & Communications | Most jobs in public utilities and communications. | Under 16 |
For 16 and 17-year-olds, the federal list of 17 hazardous jobs applies, which includes many of the above-listed occupations as well as roofing, excavation, and operating power-driven saws and metal-forming machines.
Violating child labor laws in Oklahoma can result in in both state and federal penalties.These penalties are as follows:
All organizations must maintain proper records and comply with child labor laws in Kentucky.
| Document/Notice | What to Keep or Post | Retention & Update Notes |
| Work Permit | An “Employment Certificate of Age and Schooling” for every employee under 16. | Keep on file for the duration of employment. |
| Proof of Age | A copy of a birth certificate, driver’s license, or other valid document. | Required for the work permit application and recommended for all minor employees. |
| Time and Payroll Records | Accurate records of daily and weekly hours worked and all wages paid. | Retain information for 3 years as per federal law. State law requires 5 years for some records. Best practice is to follow the longer 5-year standard. |
| Required Posters | Display all mandatory state and federal labor law posters in a conspicuous location. | Posters should be kept current and visible to all employees. |
As of 2025, the minimum working age in Oklahoma is 14 years. However, some exceptions exist allowing minors under 14 to work. For instance, delivering newspapers, working on farms, and working for parents.
No. According to both state and federal laws, 17-year-olds do not require a work permit to start employment in Oklahoma.
A 15-year-old can work only till 7:00 PM on nights preceding a school day. During the summer, i.e., between June 1 to Labor Day, the curfew can extend to 9:00 PM.
No. There are no state or federal restrictions on their working hours. A 16-year-old can work in any non-hazardous occupation for the same number of hours as an adult.
Employers who violate Oklahoma’s child labor laws can face fines of up to $1,000 per violation. They can also be issued a “cease-and-desist” order in case of repeated offenses. Employers may also face separate federal penalties, which are often larger and can go up to $15,138 per child.