Idaho has some unique child labor laws designed to ensure safe work opportunities, and those that do not interfere with their education, health, and well-being. The state’s rules are administered by the Idaho Department of Labor, which establishes a framework for minimum working age, hours, and times of day restrictions, and occupations prohibited for minors. Idaho’s laws work in tandem with the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). In cases when state and federal laws differ, employers are mandated to follow the stricter standards to protect the interests of young workers.
Let’s take a look at the state’s child labor laws.
Idaho has set 14 years as the general minimum age for employment in the state for most non-agricultural work. However, some exceptions exist. These include:
The state does not mandate minors to have an employment certificate or work permit to work in Idaho. However, employers must fulfill their obligation. They must verify the age of the minor and keep a copy of the age proof in their records to adhere to all applicable state and federal child labor rules.
Although Idaho has set specific hours and times of day limitations for minors, they vary by age.
Since Idaho follows FLSA, the table below sheds light on occupations that are off-limits for minors. These restrictions are placed to protect young workers from suffering job-related injuries.
| Age Group | Prohibited Occupations & Special Conditions |
| Under 14 | Prohibited from working in or in connection with mines, factories, workshops, mercantile establishments, telephone or telegraph offices, laundries, restaurants, and hotels. |
| Ages 14–15 | In addition to the above, these minors are prohibited from manufacturing, construction, operating power-driven machinery, commercial cooking, baking, and working in freezers or meat coolers. They are also barred from occupations involving youth peddling, sign waving, and door-to-door sales. |
| Ages 16–17 | This group is barred from the 17 hazardous occupations defined by federal law . This includes jobs involving explosives, logging, operating many types of power-driven machinery (including forklifts and meat slicers), roofing, excavation, and demolition . |
| All Minors (Under 18) | Prohibited from employment in “immoral environments” like bars and casinos. They are also restricted from handling or serving intoxicating liquors. |
| All Minors (Under 19) | Cannot work in jobs involving alcoholic beverages. |
Any employer who violates child labor laws in Idaho is subject to both state and federal penalties.
While the state does not require minors to obtain a work permit, employers are legally bound to maintain specific records for all employees under 18 years of age to comply with federal law.
| Document | Retention & Storage Details |
| Proof of Age | Employers must obtain and keep on file a document verifying the minor’s age. Accepted documents include a birth certificate, baptismal record, or passport . |
| Employee Records | Employers must keep a record of the name, age, and address of all employees under the age of 16 . |
| Time & Payroll Records | Detailed records of hours worked each day and week, along with wages paid, must be maintained. These records are essential for proving compliance with hour restrictions. |
The minimum working age in Idaho is set at 14 years for all non-agricultural work. However, some exemptions exist, such as newspaper delivery, babysitting, working in the entertainment industry, etc.
No. The state does not mandate minors to have a work permit or an employment certificate. However, it requires employers to maintain a record of age proof for all young employees for compliance purposes.
According to federal law, 14- or 15-year-olds can work up to 3 hours on a school day and must not work post 7:00 PM.
No. 16-year-olds cannot work in occupations deemed hazardous, such as operating a forklift or working in demolition.
Penalties in Idaho range from small state fines of around $50 for a first violation and $5 to $20 for subsequent violations. However, federal penalties can exceed $15,000 per violation.